Museum-estate “Pruzhansky palatsyk” is placed in a unique location –gentry manor house, built in 40 – 50s of the 19 century in addition to gentry, the house has retained the orangery and part of the Park, built at the turn of XVIII – XIX centuries.”Pruzhansk palatsik” is the only in Belarus the manor house, which have remained unchanged since its creation. It was built in the 1840s — 1850s by the famous Polish architect Francisco Maria Lanzi in the style of a rustic neo-Renaissance Villa. Its main feature is the asymmetric and intricate shapes.
The owner of Pruzhany manor was the head of the local County Walenty Smykowski. He actively participated in the social, cultural and economic life of the region, was fond of growing exotic plants, agriculture, chemistry, photography, was familiar with famous people of his time, who stayed in his house: writer, scientist and public figure Jozef Ignatiy Krashevsky, artist and musician Napoleon Horde, ethnographer Mikhail Fedorovsky. The famous Russian writer Nikolai Leskov also visited the estate.
In the mid-19 century decision Chaykovskogo regular Park was redesigned in the landscape. Along each alley there were benches for rest. Alleys went to the canal, which on the Northern edge of the estate branched, creating an island and a pond. There were several bridges across the canal. The Park surrounded the manor house on three sides and was adapted to the landscape. And today the Park is a favorite place for citizens: benches are placed along the alleys, a number of decorative bridges are thrown across the channel, a summer stage and a children’s Playground are in operation.
In 1895 – 1939 the owner of the estate was Vera kleinmikhel-granddaughter of the Minister of Railways of the Russian Empire, a relative of Natalia Goncharova (wife of Alexander Pushkin), the court lady, who visited Pruzhany rarely. But the role of the estate has changed – there were placed various institutions.
Manor house was and remains a real decoration of the city, located on its Northern outskirts.
The concept of the Museum, housed in a former manor house in 1998 – the life of gentry farmstead of the late XIX – early XX centuries and the reflection of the history and culture of Pruzany became as a whole.
The Museum building is a unique object – a stone idol of the D. Butki (I Millennium BC).The interior of the Museum retains its original layout. The first floor has an enfilade solution, where the premises (exhibition and exhibition halls) are located along the same line. To date, the interior of the Large hall (or Salon), Flower room, Winter garden, Hunting room has been restored, where you can see the original things of this era – furniture, fireplace, paintings, piano, clocks and other essential interior decorations, allowing you to make an idea of the life of the gentry estate of that time.