The Military History Museum was created with the support of the Pinsk Society of Partisan Veterans. It bears the name of Dmitry Udovikov, the former chief of staff of one of the partisan brigades in Pinsk, who was the first chairman of this society.
By the way, it was the veterans of the Second World War who became the first workers of the museum, which largely explains the priorities in the exposition. Heroes of World War II, guided tours, performed in schools, organized round tables, meetings, took part in the reception of schoolchildren in the ranks of the pioneers and even produce their own newspaper “The Voice of the guerrillas.” The director of the museum during the first 10 years of his existence was also the former partisan Yelena Brukhan.
In 2009 the museum updated the format. The chronological scope of the exposition has expanded – now it covers the history of the region from the 17th century to the present.
In the very first room “History of Drogichinchyn from the XVII century to September 1939” the exposition tells about military events that took place on the Drogichin land. For example, visitors can learn about the tragic history of the Jaber fortress, devastated by the Swedes during the Northern War. Today, only the mound in the forest has remained from the castle.
The fate of the outstanding Belarusian-Polish writer Eliza Ozheshko is connected with Drogichin. In 1858 – 1864 she lived in the village of Ludvinovo and actively participated in the Kalinouski uprising. The writer helped the rebels of the rebellious general Romuald Traugutta, for which she fell out of favor with the tsarist authorities and was forced to leave for Grodno.
In this room, a unique material was collected about the natives of the region who actively participated in the wars waged by the Russian Empire in the early 20th century, and also about the heroes of the Civil War.
Among the exhibits – weapons, banknotes and documents of that period, personal belongings of the soldiers of the Russian Army, who died during the First World War in a battle near the village concluded that in Drogichin area as well as a kettle with the legendary cruiser “Varyag”.
This same room also tells about the period when the Drogichin district was part of Poland, as well as the activities of the Communist Party of Western Belarus. The second room of the museum tells about the tragic events of 1941 – 1944. The museum stores items and eyewitness memories associated with the events of the first days of the war. German marks and occupation money (karbovans), personal belongings of German soldiers and German weapons tell visitors about the horrors of the occupation.